C.A.B. ART CENTER

Brussels

Belgium

A passionate art lover and seasoned visitor to museums and exhibitions throughout the world, Olivier Dwek chose his ideal museum space a long time ago: the Fondation Beyeler, in the leafy suburb of Basel. Built by Renzo Piano in 1997, the museum enjoys a quality of natural light that enhances the works and offers the experience of immersion in a dematerialised space, conducive to contemplation.

The CAB, a private art centre in the heart of Brussels, also benefits from generous natural light. It enters the exhibition space through two lateral skylights stretching the entire length of this former coal warehouse. The sunlight sculpts the space, caressing the white or pale concrete surfaces.

Playing on the rough-hewn quality of this industrial heritage and fostering a respect for a certain continuity, Olivier Dwek has preserved a number of elements, such as these impressive concrete pilasters. Others have been redesigned in the spirit of the original building. We are reminded of other cultural spaces, such as the Musée d’Orsay, where in 1979 the project by the firm of architects ACT was selected owing to its profound respect for Victor Laloux’s original architecture. Nevertheless, Olivier Dwek chose here to alternate between original elements and contemporary interventions. Thus several elements assert their contemporariness, whilst fulfilling the requirements for high-tech installations that optimise the quality of the displays, the preservation of the works and the quality of the visitors’ experience.

©Serge Anton

C.A.B. ART CENTER

Brussels

Belgium

Passionné d’art, aguerri aux visites de musées et expositions à travers le monde, Olivier Dwek a, depuis longtemps, élu son espace muséal idéal : la Fondation Beyeler, dans la banlieue verte de Bâle. Construite par Renzo Piano en 1997, le musée jouit d’une qualité de lumière naturelle qui privilégie les œuvres et offre l’expérience d’une immersion dans un espace dématérialisé, propice à la contemplation.

Centre d’art privé, au cœur de Bruxelles, le CAB jouit d’un éclairage naturel généreux, diffusé par deux verrières latérales qui occupent toute la longueur de cet ancien entrepôt de charbon. La lumière solaire sculpte l’espace et caresse les surfaces blanches ou en béton clair.

Jouant sur la qualité brute de ce patrimoine industriel et privilégiant le respect d’une certaine continuité, Olivier Dwek a conservé de nombreux éléments, comme ces impressionnants pilastres de béton. D’autres ont été redessinés dans l’esprit du bâtiment d’origine. On songe à d’autres lieux culturels comme le Musée d’Orsay, où le projet des architectes du bureau ACT a été choisi, en 1979, pour son profond respect de l’architecture originelle de Victor Laloux. Cependant, Olivier Dwek a tenu à alterner éléments d’origine et interventions contemporaines. Ainsi, plusieurs parties affirment leur contemporanéité, assumant les besoins en techniques de pointe pour optimaliser la qualité des accrochages, la préservation des œuvres et la qualité de la visite.

©Serge Anton